Due Date Math

Image by Brenda.

Math is a planning and a decision-making tool. Take family planning: When are we going to have our first child? Shall we have another? Let's make this last complex question simpler by reversing the proposition: So, we are set on NOT having any (more) kids, right? No? Then the time is now as my reproductive years are running out. And you, can you imagine playing soccer or doing a hula hoop contest with your kid twelve years from now without getting a heart attack? I'll take five years off work, we'll have two or three kids, all close to each other in age. They'll be friends and play with each other. I'll restart my career afterwards. All this planning usually helps but as we all know some random unexpected events surprise us along the way, changing the proposed life itinerary and turning it into this crazy hectic thing we are all trying to control.

Take me as an example. I have been planning, as I always do. But I forgot to take into account a few variables and now mercilessly being reminded of this every April. This is when our son was born – our wonderful April's Fool surprise. We were happy not to worry about reaching the hospital in a snowstorm. We loved seeing him blossoming along with the gentle spring flowers. I also liked my stylish winter maternity clothes and was terrified to imagine my round-bellied body in a wide, summer, baby doll dress. So, when a couple of years later we decided to have another child, we relied on math to match an April's due date. I counted 38 weeks backwards from my son's birthday and hid the TV remote control for a week. Our daughter was born in April just five days after her older brother's birthday. When our kids became older, however, I realized a glitch in my calculations. Together with the first blossoms of spring, April brings the tax deadline, Passover, school vacation, camp registration deadlines and two sets of birthday parties. As soon as our son is opening his last birthday gift, my daughter's cake is ready for pickup, and we have twenty more goody bags and thank you notes ahead of us. And what do you think saves us from going mad every year in April? Of course - planning. We learned to plan our April way ahead of April. Does it sound like treating substance abuse with a substance? Like flushing a morning-after hangover with a beer?

You may assume that all this has taught us that while short-term planning mostly works, in the long-term life has way too many unforeseen deviations and any kind of long-term estimation will have a major component of uncertainty. Sure, it did. Still, if this remote control ever disappears again, I'll have to count 38 weeks up to make sure it does not fall on April.

Read more about exciting math of parenting in Shadow Stories.


  1. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet Store http://www.michaelkorsoutletsstores.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburch-outlet.us.org

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katesapdeoutlet.us.org

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.outlettoryburch.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutletusa.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-korsoutletstores.us.com

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.us.org

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.